top of page

Phantom Falls

Trail: Phantom Falls

Area: Oroville’s North Table Mountain Ecological Reserve

Distance: 5.3

Solo

Last Sunday I hiked Oroville’s North Table Mountain Ecological Reserve Loop. It was a mostly cloudy day and I did get a few sprinkles but overall it was a pleasant day. I started hiking at around 9am and there were a few people on the trail with me but we were so spread out I felt alone. Before you even leave the parking lot you are immediately greeted by a beautiful oak tree. The trail sign warns you to use this giant oak to find your way back. I laughed thinking there’s no way I’d need to head this advice. Little did I know how easy it was to get lost on this trail if you’re not careful.

The fork in the trail

The reserve is composed of many rolling hills covered in wildflowers, rocks and an occasional oak tree. Though there are several trails you can follow, many people choose to just wander through the hills making their own trail. This is not directly discouraged but can be problematic if you’re not paying attention. Its very easy to get turned around, especially once you get a bit further in and everything starts looking the same. I followed the trail, when it was there, and I thoroughly enjoyed it but I also left the trail to get several photos.

As you head down the trail, you walk along a beautiful little stream and hills covered in yellow and purple wildflowers. In less than half a mile, you’ll come to a fork in the road. The more traversed trail goes left and I went right. This trail is much less populated and leads to Phantom Falls. You may find that there is no trial as some points, but if you just keep moving forward you’ll eventually find a trail to hike along. The trail goes through fields full of wildflowers and cows, up and down the hills and over several streams.

Ravine Falls
The sign

After about a mile, you’ll reach your first couple waterfalls. The largest is Ravine Falls and the two smaller are Twin Ravine Falls. These waterfalls are beautiful and worth a little break and trot off the trail to get better views. Right after the waterfalls is where the the hike roves into private property. The sign and fence goes straight up to the cliff edge and leaves very little room for the trail. But of course, us hikers have journeyed on unperturbed by the sign and fence.

It only takes another half mile to reach Phantom Falls from the sign. Once you reach Phantom Falls, you can enjoy your view like I did or hike around the rim to get a different view. I could see a photographer had hiked all the way around but I was happy with where I was. I ate a little snack and snapped some pics before it started sprinkling again and I decided to head back.

Phantom Falls
Riverbed before volcanic eruption

The way back I decided to follow another section of the trail that according to the map, ran along the canyon as well. I was so in love with the canyon that I decided this was the way to go. So after crossing the stream next to Ravine Falls, I turned off the trail in the direction of the canyon I was in search of. There was of course no trail but I moved forward anyways. After looking at the map and where I was, I was completely off course but I corrected and finally made it to the canyon area (it helped when I saw some other people hiking along the canyon). I made it to the canyon and it was full of trees and there was absolutely no view. I continued along the side, hoping that all the work had been worth it, but alas, no view. I decidedly moved away from the canyon and moved toward where I thought the main trail was. Unfortunately, I was moving parallel to the trail rather than towards it. This, I realized, was why they told you to use the oak tree to find your way back. Unfortunately, I could not see that particular oak tree but I did notice another oak tree that was near the trail, so I set out towards it. Getting back to the trail wasn’t necessarily difficult, more of a hindrance. The ground was rocky and uneven and I had no idea if I heading in the direction besides my tree. I eventually made it back to the main trail and headed back to the parking lot.

No trail

My thoughts…

The angry cow

The trail to the waterfall is well worth it. Its not a long or hard hike and you are rewarded with beautiful views of the hills, wildflowers and waterfalls. However, the extra loop towards the other canyon, not worth the walk. It is rocky, uneven, muddy and you just end up circling around in empty fields. If you want more miles, then I advise going back to the main trail and go down the other fork where most of the hiker’s head. Then at least you’ll see more waterfalls. I also advise heading the reserve’s advice and keeping away from the cows. There were several that decided they didn’t like how close I was and moved towards me in a menacing fashion. I only went near them because it was a shorter route. Lastly, go early! I cannot stress this enough. It is a very very popular spot and if you want a chance to find parking or have people-free photos then GO EARLY! If you don’t mind people then don’t worry about it!

Beautiful wildflowers. I spotted 16 different types including California poppies

Wildflowers near Ravine Falls

bottom of page